Home Chat General Chat

Novice wave at events, only if you want to....

Being a novice I reckon this is a good idea. Too late for me though I fear, sprints in Eton and Windsor will introduce me rough style which I kinda like and kinda fear at the same time.

If a novice wave had been an option though (or is likely too, not sure where you were planning them), I'd swallow my pride and go for it. Reckon it would be a good atmosphere everyone being in the same boat so to speak.

But how could you guarantee that a few experts wouldn't sneak in to get an easy start? Oh god... it's the reverse of the 'elitist' argument! [:@]

Comments

• j27rtj27rt Posts: 102
    Darren,

I think that would be a fantastic idea and as a novice I would certainly sign-up for any event which offered this. Thank you for the effort you and the organisers must have already gone to in thinking this through.

Jamie
  • deeessdeeess Posts: 150
    makes total sense to me
  • BlinkybazBlinkybaz Posts: 1,144
    Conehead - godd work.

This could almost become a novice series.
  • agent_tiagent_ti Posts: 306
    You could just remove any medals and prizes. Then everyone is competing for the satisfaction of competing their first(ish) triathlon under no pressure and having fun!
  • clarkey30clarkey30 Posts: 270
    Conehead

Is this in addition to the event we were chatting about?
  • BexHBexH Posts: 226
    This sounds great. Having signed up for an open water swim for my first ever at a big event it is a bit daunting although I'm hoping sea swims with triathlon club might help prepare me a bit! And I'm more worried about getting in peoples way or slowing other competitors down than about other aspects so a more relaxed / spread out novice wave is a great idea.
  • BopomofoBopomofo Posts: 980