Home Chat General Chat

any words of wisdom ???

HI - another plea for help from another fledgling ... am up for a challenge so am doing 4 triathlons this year but cant stretch my wallet to meet the costs of all the kit (yet) . so i make do with my mountain bike for now. any suggestions as to how to make it more tri-friendly ???? my training is going ok but is so hard to juggle all three events with the gym and work but hey you all know that - again any pointers of mercy would be well received ..... [8|]

cheers

madnurse (phil)

Comments

• loonytoonloonytoon Posts: 673
    Hi Phil,

Get slick tyres for your mountain bike..

• chischis Posts: 94
    Try cycling (or even running) into work if it is feasible - it will save valuable time by combining a necessary journey with a workout.

chis
  • SetantaSetanta Posts: 42
    As a fellow nurse I know how difficult it is but with a lot of juggling it can be done. Shiftwork is a nightmare for some but I find it great as you have more time to concentrate on your workouts as there is noone about the house. I would also recommend fitting a set of tri bars on the bike and for gear you can pick up some very cheap stuff ot www.ebay.co.uk and also at www.totalfitnessbath.co.uk.

Enjoy your Tri's

Joe
  • madnursemadnurse Posts: 782
    if only ... i work some 27 miles from home (via motorway at that) so 8 marathons a week should have me in good stead for salford & lonndon ???? LOL [:D][:D][:D][:D][:D]

thanks for the thought tho

phil
  • pugwashpugwash Posts: 8
    I think a good investment may be to go for bike shoes and road pedals (you will need them when you get a road bike so it's not dead money)

As Setanta says you can pick up some very cheap stuff on ebay

If you are swimming in open water you will need a wetsuit, if you don't have one just hire it. you can hire a wetsuit for £25 + £10.49 P&P (Jan to sep) from www.triuk.com.

Hope this helps

Good luck

Paul