Home Chat General Chat

Aero bars and ride stability !

Hello everyone

I'm still very new to road bike and have only been out a few times, but it strikes me that getting down on the aero bars is a bit unstable! I only get to use them when hitting higher speeds and therefore the instability is even more of an issue! Is there any advice you can offer me with regards to this? Or is it just me being a pansy!

Comments

• agent_tiagent_ti Posts: 306
    As your speed increases you should find that the bike becomes more stable. Aerobars do take a while to get used to though, as you have to learn how to go from nice wide drops to thin aerobars. Just stick with it, and you should find it gets easier, the same with cycling sitting up not holding on. If you still find it is difficult, make sure that the bars are actually centered on the bike, otherwise you are going to have fun trying to keep that upright!
  • graham33graham33 Posts: 265
    I vote - pansy!

Just joking Gary, You do get used to them, I've not used them a masive mount but they totlly natural to me, Ifeel weird out of them.

God luck
    Another point ive just thought of, might be worth trying to get a proper bike fitting if you havent already. Have you got clip ons or full TT setup? and is your frame a TT frame or road frame? all can make a difference
  • Bike is a Trek 1.9 2008 road bike with Profile Design T2+ clip ons. I haven't had a proper bike fit and i know i should....

Shouldnt give you any problems, but remember with a road bike youre never going to get the perfect geometry to make the clip-ons sit in the perfect place, but you should still be able to balance it. I'm running a 2006 specialized tarmac sl with the profile t2+ cobra bars and have no problem with them, though i do seem to remember nearly falling off the first time i tried to get up out of the bars.... persevere and it should get easier!
  • treefrogtreefrog Posts: 1,242