Home Chat General Chat

Swimming Tips Please.........

Hi fellow triers

I have been swimming now for a few months and seem to have hit a bit of a wall. I can swim the 400m distance (my first target) in about 7:45 but get tired towards the end....firstly, this is no good, as i think i would like to do an Olympic distance at the end of the season, and getting tired at 400m just won't do. Secondly, i want to swim the 400m faster anyway.

So i come cap in hand again, eager to hear your words of wisdom. What tips can you offer? If there were just one, what would it be? How can i get this time down to 7 mins?

Hope to hear from you!

Comments

• MGMG Posts: 470
    Firstly I would suggest getting someone (ie a coach) to look at your technique, if thats not gonna happen then get a stop watch and do some HARD intervals, 50m to start with so 15x50m with 15 sec rest, these sets should be done absolutely FLAT OUT. Then when those get easier 10x100m with 15-20sec rest.

Hard intervals will bring your times down but sorting your technique out (not saying its crap, but everyone has flaws[;)]) first would be the best thing to do.

You've probably plateau-ed so you need to push yourself to the next level, this is always a bit more difficult with swimming (especialy on your own) and requires discipline.

I went to swim4tri a couple of years ago and although I didnt immediatly get quicker, after laying the basics of better technique (and alot of perseverance!!) I've gone from a 28min 1500m to a 23min 46sec PB.

Good luck.

• BopomofoBopomofo Posts: 980
    Hi Gary,

Let's hear some basics about how you swim (this is not an exhaustive or definitive list of questions, just some examples):

Typically, how many strokes do you take in 25m?

Which way do you breathe?

Do you do any drills? Are there any that you are good at?

Which parts of the stroke are you conscious of working hard at?

Have you tried to self-analyse and try to feel where the water is dragging?