Home Chat General Chat

Total newbie - what do I need?

I have just signed up for my first sprint triathlon. I am a regular runner, cyclist and swimmer just never all in one go. What extra gear do people recommend?

I only have a mountain bike, should I get slicks put on?

The swim is in a pool. Is it worth getting a tri-suit?

Any other hepl appreciated. I obviously want to do the best I can without spending a fortune (and without looking OTT for someone who is probably going to be towards the back of the field).

Cheers

Bob

Comments

• madnursemadnurse Posts: 782
    hi bob

welcome to the funnyfarm ...

in my limited experince things that will help would include

slicks, clipless pedals for a start off... the trisuit will help certainly in tranistion (saves changing)

practise a few bricks (back to back sessions of swim to bike or bike to run) easy pace and distance to start off with.

join a local tri club - will help loads with your fitnes and motivation. you might be put off but they have so much that can help

and invest in a little optimism .. you will do better than that you think most of us did in your first race.

PLenty of good advice on the forum .. spend a bit of time pouring thru .. & if you have Q's ask em plenty of hairbrained tri trypes with a bit of experince you can pull on ...

madnurse

• BonusBBonusB Posts: 279
    Rather than splshing out on a tri suit it may be worth looking for a simple pair of cycle shorts you can swim and bike in (i.e. ones that wont hold to much water after the swim) and simply have a top in transition. That should be a balance between cost and time.

Clips are worth looking at but I'd play around before you get to race day, practice getting in and out of them which ever way your going to wear them (i.e. putting them on off the bike or having them clipped in and cycling off as you put them on; tricky).