Home Chat General Chat

cycling, silly question?

Hi all

may be a daft question, now the nites are light, I am gonna start getting on my bike (have been doing spin classes at gym to train in interim to start off training) now then..

I am only having to do a 23k bike ride for my first tri, so the question is:

on my 2-3 sesh's a week, do I just cycle that distance or is there any specific training I can do on my bike to help me?

I am new to cycling so please dont use any jargon if there is any! lol

thanks!

Shell [:)]

Comments

• ironkavironkav Posts: 259
    Hi Shell,

First I train in minutes which I find better as you can compare your work better at the end. e.g. You can check your distance achieved against the 30min each time to see if your getting faster. Also easier to plan into your schedule.

I keep my RPMs between 80 and 95 always. I add in 2-3 minute 100+RPMs every 10mins to increase the intensity of the session.

I increase the timing of the sessions weekly. Started at 3*30mins a week. Up to 3 * 45mins now.

I dont get out on the roads until the weekend. I try and get one long cycle of 1 hour + in every saturday followed by a run to get my body used to the transition also.

Hope that helps.

ironkav

JARGON used sorry.

RPM revolutions per minute: you can seen this on most gym bikes. I usually leave the info screen on RPM so I can keep above 80 always. If you are always over 95ish then increase the resistance on the bike until you are between 80+90
  • meakiemeakie Posts: 124
    I will be doing my cycling of an evening as I cannot always commit to weekends, so I may follow your 30mins increase to 45 mins idea.

thanks!

And adding a run at the end too is a good idea.

I will really feel the jelly legs then huh!

thanks for posting :-)
    jelly legs exaclty. i find the transition weird for 1st 5 mins then the legs loosen out.

Your v welcome

• MowfMowf Posts: 272