Home Chat General Chat

Overtraining...?

Ok so i've been training pretty hard over the past week and the last few nights i've been sleeping pretty badly. I just read (homoerotic mens fitness) that overtraining can raise your BP and RHR and cortisol levels which in turn give you broken sleeps. anyone else experienced this? If so, how do you guys deal with this? just train less?

Comments

• ironkavironkav Posts: 259
    Hey,

Do you have any rest days scheduled in your week?

I take mondays off completely. Max of 2 disciplines a day. Then again I am only a beginner, but rest is overlooked sometimes by beginners.

Also, what is your diet like?

ironkav

• JessterJesster Posts: 482
    Yeah, I take a full day off training on mondays too. my diet is pretty good. Porridge of course with fruit for brekkie, homemade veg/chicken soup and cous cous for lunch, tuna/jacket spud and veg/salad for tea. umpteen litres of water! usually a great sleeper, been training really well-and loving it!!
  • overtraining is a bugger,

i usually work a 4-3 routine (4 days training, 3 days off), usually like day on day on day off day on day on day off day off.

How many hours you sleepin?

Do you driink coffee?

Try some herbal tea an hour before bed. Try to tune down your day by reading your 220 magazine ;) avoid the TV. This might help you unwind and relax before hitting the sack.

Ive no problem catching Z'z. As soon as i get into bed Im snooozing. [;)]

getting up is another problem lol

IK

Always have my eight hours, and i dont drink coffee (always makes me feel a bit shaky and ill) falling asleep is no drama, soon as my head hits the pillow. just that my sleeps are broken. Might try the herbal tea thing, though. someone suggested a supplement called 5-HTP, anyone familiar with that?