Home Chat General Chat

Newbie training question

Hi all

I started training for my triathlon about 3 months ago, I am doing the Stirling Novice Try-a-tri and the Ayr Open water Sprint triathlons this year.

Untill 3 weeks ago I was training indoors on the treadmill and on the bike - everything was fine. I ran my 5-6k and biked my 20-30k. I've never had any problems with impact based training before, but all of a sudden my quads just went during the run when I moved to running outside. The pain was unbareable both when running and when resting. My legs were in absolute agony.[:(]

I went to the physio who told me I don't stretch enough, and it had to be that because my legs/knees were fine. Ok admitted I am not very good at remembering to do that. So I started stretching properly about 2 weeks ago, now my quads seem fine, but the pain has moved to my hip flexor. Some days I feel nothing and other days it can be incredibly painful to get from a sitting position to standing. When I've walked around for a while the pain dissapears though. Running on the other hand seems to be quite hard, the impact can hurt real bad and it sorts feels like I cannot lift my legs properly.

The funny thing about this is that if I only do my running workout and nothing else my legs will be in intense pain, but if I add in my bikeleg then my legs seem to cope alot better and I feel alot less pain in my hip flexors.

Any thoughts would be very appriciated.

Thanks alot [:D]

Comments

• al_fordal_ford Posts: 119
    go to a running shop and get a proper pair of running shoes and a gait analysis.

go to a bike shop and get your bike fitted correctly.

I had hip flexor and achilles trouble for ages and it turned out iI needed support trainers as I tended to over pronate when running. New trainers...new me!
  • svanedksvanedk Posts: 11
    I went to a running specific shop and got new shoes. I overpronate as well, they did the analysis and all and the shoe worked great on the treadmill.