Home Chat General Chat

London Triathlon - 6th Aug

Comments

• swarrenswarren Posts: 6
    Hi peeps,

thanks for all the comments, I have to admit I was getting a bit down about the swim so much that I have binned it for this week. Yet after ready your encouragement and tips I feel that we have all gone through the same experience and its nice to know your not alone. Cheers and I'll keep you all posted on my progress.
  • madnursemadnurse Posts: 782
    Stuart - am glad to hear you not throwing the towel - it can get a little frustrating for all of us at times - the swim is probably what most of people relish least in a tri regardless of how times they have raced. Nowhere in the BTS rules does it stipulate that crawl only must be used so if you want to mix it up a little between a few strokes say crawl & breast then no problem......doggy paddle might rasie a few smiles tho

go for it mate !!!!

madnurse (phil) [;)]
  • mgs76mgs76 Posts: 10
    Keep your chin up - I'm just starting out too and swimming is my weakest discipline of the three. I'm trying to go 4 times per week at the moment and in the pool I do my race distance very slowly, concentrating on an even stroke. It just takes time and practice that's all.... I'm even tempted to start 5 times per week, just to put in the practice.

I'm going to attempt my first open water swim in the sea in Brighton at the end of the month (weather permittin) once I have got my tri-suit. Maybe my relaxed, calm attitude will change then!!

• guv001guv001 Posts: 227
    For all those people that are worried about the race there is an article on www.runnersworld.co.uk about a bloke that went from couch potato to triathlete in only a few months. Please see below.
  • guv001guv001 Posts: 227
    Sorry for the second post but he is the link to story http://www.inspiredtorun.co.uk/2006/05/05/it-ain-t-over-till-its-over-/ there are loads of other good inspiring stories on there to get you going when you really don't want to.