Home Chat General Chat

Advice for a newbie, please...

I'm taking part in the Warwick Aquathlon on Saturday - it's my first attempt at anything like this and I'm fretting a bit about the transition, so would welcome any suggestions or advice on how to make sure I get through it as quickly and painlessly as possible!

Thanks in advance...

BTW, does anyone know if I'll have to haul my a55 out of the pool or will be able to use the steps? [sm=rolleyes.gif]

Comments

• JessterJesster Posts: 482
    Stick a towel on the floor with all your stuff on it and dry your feet a bit while you put on your t-shirt/number/shorts, if you dont have a tri-suit (you'll have been swimming in your swimming costume i assume)

have you been training without socks? if not you'll have to pull on socks before your trainers and this can be a bit fiddly. Now have a quick swig of your drink, big deep breath, and out on the run you go. (waving to your mates if you're anything like me!)

Just enjoy it and have some fun.

Oh, and practice hauling your butt out of the pool, you'll probably have to on the day...see Bopomofo's comments on the best way to do this based on various walrus impressions....

I hope this helps [:)]
  • MowfMowf Posts: 272
    Limeycat wrote:

BTW, does anyone know if I'll have to haul my a55 out of the pool or will be able to use the steps? [sm=rolleyes.gif]

Drop the event organiser an email and ask them. They're usually happy to answer questions like these. The last pool tri I did finsihed in the shallow end and there were granny steps in my lane, which nobody seemed to mind me using!

Get some elastic laces and if the run is 5k, dont wear socks. Lube the bits of your trainers that might rub and you should be fine.
  • graham33graham33 Posts: 265
    call me dumb but I've been reading this for ages and thinking what is an a55 - and then like a 100 watt bulb turning on I got it ASS! can't you say ass on the forums - we'll see if it gets edited!