Home Chat General Chat

Swim Technique Drills

Who incorporates swim technique drills into training eg. catch up, slow arm recovery? Do they work for you?

Personally i do one or two techniques sessions each week, although my swimming is quite strong. I cannot tell really if these are making me faster, or whether it is intervals or somthing else?

Comments

• JessterJesster Posts: 482
    Drills are great! Catch up has improved my glide no end and when my arms get shot i use high elbows to recover. It's all about improving efficiency and reducing the number of strokes you take per length. I took a tip from this forum and watched a load of drills on you tube. am now basking in drill heaven and have lots of different ones to do...this is probably why i'm still single. i get excited about drills.

This week-running drills! Yay! lol

• han382han382 Posts: 80
    Hi Jester,

I'm still very new to swimming, and although I can now swim I'd appreciate any advice you could give/ links to swim drills you would recommend. I searched swim drills in YouTube and got loads of returns-are there any in particular that you used?
    Hey Han, i reckon that its only worthwhile doing drills after you have gained fair competence in your front crawl, as i havent seen you swim i dont know where you're at!

I would only practice drills once you are comfortable travelling for a fair distance and you can regulate your breathing, otherwise i'm not sure that you'll see the benefits! theres no point making life hard on yourself while gasping for air! What's your swimming like at the moment?
  • han382han382 Posts: 80