Home Chat General Chat

Newbie scared and confused by training plans

Hi all,

I know that all you pros out there are obsessed with meticulous training regimes but to be honest as a total noob its scaring me a bit. I've got 12 weeks til Eton, and I'm not even sure I should have entered the sprint - maybe I should be doing novice. Anyway so the 12 week bit, I'm looking at 12 week plans of complex swim drills and %HR and fartleks and, well to be honest its all a bit much.

My question is this - I want to go to Eton and finish. I plan to run 2/3 times a week, bike 2/3 times a week (plus commute 8 mile round trip 3 days) and swim twice a week, plus throw in some brick sessions swim-bike, bike-run occasionally and have a rest day of course. I'm aiming to finish, any more is a bonus. I know I won't be supa-dupa if I don't do all the complex stuff, but at the moment its scaring me off a bit - surely its better to actually swim, bike and run at all at this stage than stress the small stuff?

Also given current fitness state do you think I'll actually make it to sprint distance? Currently can run 5K - just - in about 35 mins (I know I'm a tortoise), I can cycle forever and cycle fast, and I can breaststroke for a bit....in a pool.... but I'm working on that. Am I attempting too much too soon??

Comments

• Jack HughesJack Hughes Posts: 1,262