Home Chat General Chat

Good Warm-ups??

Rightyo firstly apologies for being absent from forum for a while. My computer is so slow I got frustrated with it for a bit and refused to use it. I've now caved so that I can return to the advice giving greatness of this forum.

I am looking for ideas for pre-race warm ups. I have a 10k run tomorrow and would like to try a proper warm up as opposed to my usual 'try to look like i'm a pro leg hop', which includes hopping from one foot to the other and blowing hot air on my hands. not sure how this is supposed to help but it gives me something to do.

so any ideas folks?? goven that i not the best 10k runner. in fact i have only made the move up to the distance this year. have only done sprint tris and 5ks before now. did a 10k last week too and didnt have any fuel left in the tank by the end... must train after tomorrow!!

thanks for all advice trigods/esses. [:D] xx

Comments

• Jack HughesJack Hughes Posts: 1,262
    Here's what I do!

I'm a bit injury prone so spend a lot of time.... also focusing on the race.

1) For a 10k eating something like a Go Bar or banana 1 hour before the race.

2) Finish drinking water 45 mins before the race. Get nice and hyrdated, and time for a last wee before the started.

3) Start off with a bit of jogging

4) DYNAMIC stretches (these all help to get the muscles working - "recruit" them in the parlance. I will do leg swings, forwards and backwards - think high kicks. Side swings. Squats. Tend not to bother with arms much though.

5) More running up and down - get up to full pace, striding out.

6) Get the heart rate up to a reasonable amount.

So the key thing is to get as many muscles going as possible. The theory is that if you get as many muscles working as possible, then fatigue takes longer to set in.

The static stretches are for when you have finished.