Home Chat General Chat

Nutrition - how much of a difference for sprints?

I've been training now for a few months. Its all going reasonably well but my attention has turned to nutrition and i have a few questions.

First and foremost, just how much of a difference does the right nutrition make (for a sprint)?

And not just on the day, but the week prior to the event?

Assuming it makes a difference (and i would guess that it does) then what is best practice?

If i have to arrive at say, 8am, and the race begins at 10:30am then what would you recommend?

What about during the race?

So, as you can see, i'm just trying to get your collective opinions and experiences on nutrition and its effects.

Would love to hear back from you all.

G

Comments

• Jack HughesJack Hughes Posts: 1,262
    Prior to the event: A lot. Not sure what the state of the art is, but good old carb loading a day or two or three out is probably still the case.

On an event: Depends on the duration.. < 1hr, nothing required, even hydration, > 1hr you might think about hydration, + some extra carbs. > 2hrs, you need to feed + drink for sure.

A little and often - before you get hungry... In practice, the bike leg is the point for feeding... a drink or two on a run leg, if it is > 10K.

But, everyone is different - something you have to work out for yourself. All part of the fun.
  • jonEjonE Posts: 1,113
    Try to avoid eating foods that are going to repeat on you,the beef,onion,and mustard sandwich I had for lunch 3hrs before a race was a bad mistake,keep it plain,keep it simple,to avoid the technicolour display that would be worthy of a place in the gallery on 'Vision On'.
  • willtriwilltri Posts: 436
    I'm a veggie and i've just been laughed at by "someone in the know" for having a salad for lunch a bananna just before then doing 1 3/4 hour ride and wondering why i was struggling when i got over around the hour mark....