Home Chat General Chat

Starting out in tri....any advice?

Hi all,

I'm not a total novice, I was a middle distance runner and I have dabbled in the cycling world, MTB and road, and I am a swim coach.....so triathlon was the obvious path.

But, how do you marry all the disciplines training together?

What kind of bike set up is good?

I plan on doing a sprint event in June 600M swim, 16km bike and 6km run.

Any Help would be much appreciated.

Regards,

Niall K

Comments

• garyrobertsgaryroberts Posts: 869
    Hi Raven6

You can get whatever advice you need from this forum, but your question is possibly a little too broad, you need to break it down into easy to digest chunks to get the answers/advice that you are looking for.

There's a great bunch of people here, they have helped me a great deal [:D]
  • shadowone1shadowone1 Posts: 1,408
    Raven,

Welcome to the world of Tri and say hi to Gary, he's famous he is!!!

There is search facility on the fourm which will help in relation to your question about the bike. You can basically do a tri on a mountain bike if you wanted, although I'd recommend getting a pukka road bike.

Much depends on budget, if you only have £350 then you will get what you pay for. I speak from experience, I bought a budget end bike at £400ish and have spent that again on modifying it.

In terms on marrying the disciplines together, it all about practice and remember there are four disciplines and not three - the fourth is the silent killer ie transition.

One of the hardest parts of tri is going from bike to run as when you come off the bike you will have jelly legs and you've got to train to cope. Best way is a brick session ie after a lengthy cycle, get off the bike and go for a run. The first time you do this you will see what we mean by jelly legs.

The biggest thing is to get practicing and practice hard. You'll reap the benefits on the first tri.