Home Chat General Chat

Gears

congrats on taking the plunge, Sarah! As a newbie myself, I was told when I bought my bike to take it back 4-6 weeks later for re-tightening of cables, which stretch naturally, so need resetting. Could be that?

Comments

• DOtriHarderDOtriHarder Posts: 307
    Welcome Sarah

I would get the shop to check that the gears are set up properly; with todays mechanisms they should just jump to the next gear with only a thunk[:)] The only time you could make it grind is if you are moving to a bigger sprocket of chainring and push the lever slowly or not far enough.

David
  • sarahb193sarahb193 Posts: 11
    I'm doing my first triathlon in August - the London, Olympic. Training's going well, once I swallowed abandoning all social life, and I'm really enjoying it. I swim and run anyway - but still getting my head round serious biking. I've succumbed and bought myself a new Allez, which I'm having fun playing with - but I'm terrible at the gears. They crunch and grind. Anyone got any good tips? it's a lovely bike and i'm worried I'm doing it damage...

thanks.
    Thanks for that. I'll do that. It's definitely more than a satisfying clunk - scrapey rattling noises and worrying that the chain will come off. And I doubt it's stretched cables yet, though I'll definitely take it for a 6 week checkup.

- Any firm Do Nots with the bike, anyway? - Anything stupid I should avoid doing? Teach yourself biking's a lonely business...

thanks! great to have somewhere to help navigate these obstacles!

• BonusBBonusB Posts: 279