Home Chat General Chat

Hello from a total newbie!

Just wanted to stick my head in and say hi. This forum is my first step into preparation for a triathlon and I wanted to ask a few questions (if I could draw on the collective efforts of the forum members to assist!)

To paint the picture I'm 38 (nearly 39), completely unhealthy - I haven't been to the gym in three months and would struggle to run for a bus, and I've just quit smoking! - and two stone overweight - 6'4" and 17 stone, with a BMI in the high 28s, and that's NOT muscle of the relaxed kind or otherwise.

To add to the overweightness, I can't swim (well, I sort of can, but anything more than a width of the pool and i'm ruined).

So I thought i'd set myself a target of the London Tri in 2010 at Olympic distance - if I remember correctly that's 1500m swim / 40K Bike and 10k run. The target is 15 months away (if the london tri is in august, which a cursory scan of t'internet says it is..)

So first question... am I completely insane? :)

second question... I don't want to go charging off and spending a fortune on gear, but increase my base level fitness over the next three months doing mainly CV work in the gym, then start specific prep, giving myself a year (ish) to achieve my target. That's the point that i'll buy a bike, get on the road, and focus myself more on a specific training routine. Does that make sense? I've looked on Amazon at the Triatheletes' training bible, which looks like a good investment, but I also realise that getting out there and doing something is more worthwhile than reading a book!

and last but not least - could any of you guys perhaps point me in the right direction for newbie advice? I've spent a while reading the posts on this forum, but am eager to create the right foundations to train properly. Next step is to actually book myself on the 2010 tri and then tell all my work colleagues (and anybody else I can think of) so I can't back out.