Home Chat General Chat

Hello from a total newbie!

2»

Comments

• diddsdidds Posts: 655
    juleso wrote:

Also, Joe Friel is heavy into Ironman if I recall correctly. You might want to pick up another book aimed at people training for shorter distances, so as not to scare yourself!

a book like "Your First triathlon" maybe. Written by... errr... Joe Friel.

;-)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Your-First-Triathlon-Joe-Friel/dp/1931382859/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1241113749&sr=8-5

FTR it doesn't assume anything much more than you can stand up, you have access to a bike of any description, and you don't have a total aversion to water. Its very much a "can do" book. Even though by the time I had read it the training plan was redundant as I was almost upon my first tri (last september) I found it greatly encouraging; to the extent that I tried to get the leisure centre I am a member of to tri (!) and start a beginners tri club and we would use the plan and the book to take complete newbies through to their first tri. It didn't happen for various reasons, but I would still be keen to "run" such a "club" sometime as a sort of extended support group rather than an actual tri club, [Not that I hasten to add I am any good, or a coach (other than a rugby coach!), but more in the spirit of being a facilitator to bring others to this fantastic experience].

I would agree with Jules though (in case it sounds like I've dissed him!) in that The Triathlete's Training Bible is a bit ... open... in its planning stages, but it IS a very readable style and I wouldn't say reading it is worthless. See if you can borrow a copy from the library maybe (its what I did). "Going Long" may be a bit premature at this stage (but of course if you are like Conehead maybe you do need to start reading it now :-)

cheers

didds

• jjleonardjjleonard Posts: 16
    Thanks Didds - I've ordered Coneheads' book and the 'Your First Triathlon' book - thought i'd start at the bottom! [:D] [:D] [:D]