Home Chat General Chat

Novice, Rookie, Newbie, intermediate?

BlinkybazBlinkybaz Posts: 1,144
Just looking for thoughts!

When do you progrerss from a Newbie to the next level? What would be call the next level?

Seems like there are a lot of newbies that are turning into the next level, as they start to race in their first season. My first race is in a little over 2 weeks. I call myself a newbie now but what will I be after?

Comments

• julesojuleso Posts: 279
    Blinkybaz, I would suggest the word 'pending'! For those who have yet to dip a toe in the Triathlon water.

juleso, currently a pending triathlete (until June 6th, after which I hope to be a newbie).
  • shadowone1shadowone1 Posts: 1,408
    Conehead wrote:

As a Rookie, I think we're all Rookies in some way. I'm still learning now.

I'm no Newbie - which is why I like Rookie as it perfectly describes anyone from newbie to someone with a few Oly distance under their belt.

A 10hr female ironman athlete friend of mine did the whole of the bike leg on the Trentham middle distance tri with her aero bottle straw sticking out the top of her aero helmet like an antenna! She had put her helmet inbetween her handlebars when she racked her bike - as we all do. This perfectly put the straw into one of the vents in her aero helmet. When she jumped on her bike and got going she just assumed her straw had fallen out, not realising it was pointing straight out of the top of her aero helmet.

How about Michalie Jones running out of Hawaii transition - with someone elses bike and having to run back.

Tim Don 70.3 south africa just gone, gets into change tent - then realises he's grabbed someone elses bag!

So - we're all 'rookies'. Sounds a lot better.

Or Steven the new triathlete who stupidly left his run shoes with his wife instead of transition and only realised during the swim and spent about 3mins telling one of the marshalls that my shoes were not where I needed them!!!

I am a rookie!!