Home Chat General Chat

First Triathlon

Hi Guys,

I have just found this forum and I'm finding it really useful!! The only thing is, after reading some posts about what's best to wear, and mistakes and things, I am really starting to wet myself!!!

I have never done one before but have been training really hard, trying to build up my stamina etc. I feel really scared now after reading all these posts from people who really know what they're doing. I think it will have turned dark before I've finished!!!

Anyway, I'm sure this forum will help me. I think I'll be on here every 5 mins asking questions!!!

Comments

• JasonBJasonB Posts: 303
    Hey welcome Buddy,

There is no need to worry, the only bad thing about this website is the overconfidence that can be achieved.

I haven't done a triathlon since about 19, and now I am 33. My first is in two weeks, but after coming on this website it helps training, things to look out for, and makes you realise they are quite a good bunch of people. However I think I could do a half iron man now. lol I do have to hold myself back a bit.

I got over my race nerves by entering a few local road races, and time trials. No matter who you are there are always nerves.

• BonusBBonusB Posts: 279
    :: Looks around confused ::

Someone knows what there doing? Where? [&:]

I think there are a number of us first timers here for this season. The main thing to remember is that tri is simply a swim a bike and a run. Yes you have to pace yourself to get through all three but it is as simple or as complicated as you want to make it.

If you take your time then you have no worries about messing up through transitions, the faster you want to go the more important it becomes to add transition training to your plan. It is a huge but enjoyable learning experience, about that learning is as much about yourself as the sport. Don't approach it with trepidation, go out with an open mind, learn and more importantly enjoy yourself.