Home Chat General Chat

Overtraining

How do you know if your overtraining? I have been doing about 10-15 hours per week, mixing intensity and volume, so have a good variation.

Sometimes my legs feel heavey after a hard session for about 3 days, should i be training (easy) after 1 or 2 days on the bike or run? I doint really like taking the days completely off?

Comments

• md6md6 Posts: 969
    Although I'm no expert I don't think you're overtraining yet, i think the symptoms you have are fatigue, which would be normal for the amount of training you do. You do need to take rest days to give your body a chance to recover. I try to have one rest day a week, and train about 10/15 hours depending on my work, social arrangements, GAT avoidance etc. If you don't have any rest then you won't get to lock in the gains your training is making and you will end up overtraining. That said, hopefully someone else with more knowledge will offer something more helpful?

• sam_thebatmansam_thebatman Posts: 112
    Yeah, i maybe im just fatigued. I probably would be really suffering if i was overtrained i guess, physically and mentally.

Maybe il up my carb intake more, that might help too with recovery. I generally have one rest day, or very easy day and generaklly work on a run-bike-swim-brick-swim rotation. It just my legs still feel heavy after a few days rest
  • jacjac Posts: 452
    Up your protein Sam..too many carbs can actually leave you feeling sluggish. Protein will help the body recover quicker.

Other overtraining signs to watch for are things like mood changes, lethargy, poor sleep, colds and muscle soreness.

I was on the cusp after my first race and took three days off. Keep your diet in tip-top shape and get plenty of sleep.
  • PC_67PC_67 Posts: 196
    I've got more colds lately than I used to get and this has coincided with my most active year to date, training wise. I've thought that it may be a symptom of overtraining.