Home Chat General Chat

Entry level bike choice help!

Please help i have £400 to spend ideally but boardman not much more???

2nd hand

Airlite300

Boardman roadbike comp 09

Carrera Vanquish Road 08

Muddyfoc milano triathlon

i'm a newbie and need some expert advice

Thanks

Comments

• rmbrmb Posts: 22
    i have just got a boardman myself and for the money i dont think any thing else comes close. realy nice ride as well
  • sam_thebatmansam_thebatman Posts: 112
    Yeah, the boardman definately. I really like the look of that bike and for the money you wont get anything better, though i thought they were more than £450
  • garydee77garydee77 Posts: 63
    I thought I seen the Boardman in Halfords priced at £999??

Unless theres a cheaper model?

GD
  • jamewahjamewah Posts: 113
    I bought a Boardman Team 08 model in February 09 for a super knockdown price and I absolutely love it !

It rides & handles superb with an Awesome Spec.

If you can get a second hander for around that price I would certainly recomend it !

Had a Giant OCR before that & it felt like going from Vauxhall to a Mercedes (nothing against Vauxhall cars)
  • jamewahjamewah Posts: 113
    garydee77 wrote:

I thought I seen the Boardman in Halfords priced at £999??

Unless theres a cheaper model?

GD

Yeah there are different models, comp, team, pro & carbon.

Comp being the lowest spec (but still a great spec!)

I'm looking to upgrade to a carbon 09 next year and have the team as my training bike
  • jjleonardjjleonard Posts: 16
    funny that - I've looked on the Halfrauds site and the Comp SC is the only one hovering around the £500 mark - and they are single speed fixed bikes. The Comp range, starting at £650, is the cheapest 'geared' one.

• just2trijust2tri Posts: 198
    It also looks like they biggest size they do is a 57/58cm frame ....
  • diddsdidds Posts: 655
    didn't an entry level boardman get very very good reviews ion one of last months tri mags?