Home Chat General Chat

Flying with your bike...

danny_sdanny_s Posts: 235
So I wanted to take my bike for a holiday this summer. She's been a good girl and deserves it. However, I am really confused on what will keep her safe without my spending 500 on a bullet proof bike vault.

I've seen people pack their bikes into a cardboard box with plenty of foam, but this scares me! Soft cases seem just as bad, but since I've never done this before, wanted to get some advice.

Thoughts?

Comments

• fatstufatstu Posts: 46
    Bulletproof box is by far the best option if you have the cash - but then it's cheap against the price of a new bike... They're really heavy in some cases though, so watch out for the excess baggage police...

I've used a soft case for mine a couple of times with LOTS of bubble wrap but I'm going to try a hard case next time round, the derailleur got bent the last time I used a soft case - cue emergency trip to LBS before race...
  • EdstgEdstg Posts: 83
    I agree with conehead - i have a DHB and have taken my bike all over. never had a single problem - they are only 140 odd quid on wiggle.
  • 58fern58fern Posts: 9
    Stupid question perhaps but never having travelled with the bike by air is the DHB suitable for a TT bike ?
  • EdstgEdstg Posts: 83
    i get my TT bike in one no problems as the seat comes out - a freind of mine has a scott plasma with a one piece seatpost and even though it is a bit tight he can still get it in. It does require some creative solutions however.
  • MGMG Posts: 470
    I shelled out for a Scicon Aerotech, but you can pretty much chuck the bike in with track pump, wetsuit, blow up doll, kitchen sink and all your clothes and theres still room to spare.....
  • clarkey30clarkey30 Posts: 270
    sbr sports hire them if you dont want to pay out too much!
  • jonEjonE Posts: 1,113
    fatstu wrote: