Home Chat General Chat

Bike

Is it ok to use a normal mountain bike cos it sounds like everyone uses these really cool bikes, and I just got mine from Halfords!!!!

Comments

• robsaundrobsaund Posts: 26
    Hi Buddy,

I'm a newbie too - training for my first event in September. I've only got a mountain bike too and am told that there are many others like us... I'll still be tieing my laces on my cycling shoes when others are half way around the circuit. All of these flying starts on the bike will save seconds, which at my level really isn't going to matter that much.

Swimming - cycling - running - do whatever it takes (legally) to get to the finish line, nobody will laugh - You're doing a triathlon which is a damn sight better than all of those couch potatoes sat in front of the footy on the idiot box. In your other posts you've mentioned swimming breaststroke, go for it, and transitions, search for other posts on this and on the tritalk forums - there's a wealth of info to be had regarding what/when etc... If you have entered a race, check the race info, they may also offer helpful advice.

For my first event I'm simply planning on completing it - no attempt to set any world records or anything fancy. As long as I've tried my best I'll be happy. Then I can train for the next one with times in mind.

Above all, enjoy it, it's a fun way to keep fit although I'm sure the IM and HIM element posting here may disagree with the enjoyment factor [;)]

Rob

• madnursemadnurse Posts: 782