Home Chat General Chat

Cassette/gear setups - 11-28?? question

OK - only started into tri last march 08 and still relatively 'fresh' today to most of it with a couple of sprints and olympic distances under the belt.

Anyway - had left my bike in to be serviced there last night at my LBS which is a different one from where I bought my Specialized Allez.

The guy last night was taking a look over it and was very very surprised to see it had a 11-28 cassette on it - he didn't explain too much to me but made it sound like it was a terrible choice to have put onto a road bike from the original shop and had mentioned that it was more like a mountain bike cassette. He has offered me the choice to get a 12-25 or 27 put onto it which he said should offer me a lot more whilst on the bike.

So as I said - I'm still a relative newbie especially to bikes and their setup. So I've a couple of questions regarding this:

1) Did the original shop where I bought this bike make a bad mistake and put this cassette on? Do I have any right to complain to them or is what they done acceptable i.e. the bike still worked in essence.

2) Would this 11-28 cassette setup have been a less than efficient setup as opposed to a 12-25 etc?

3) Will I notice any differences if I get the cassette changed to a 12-25?

Thanks for any feedback guys

G

Comments

• garydee77garydee77 Posts: 63
    ok Cheers Conehead!

G
  • han382han382 Posts: 80
    Hi Conehead/all, I was out riding this weekend and am also a newbie (I'm signed up for 27 June so no need to sell it!) and was thikning about this exact issue. Am I right in thinking if I'm running out of gears down hill then it's the 12 part of the 12-25 that I need to look at as well as the largest chain ring? I assume that all 12s (either 12-25, 12-27 etc) will all have the same dimensions and therefore I'd run out of gears at the same place down hill?
  • graham33graham33 Posts: 265
    Hi Gary,