Home Chat General Chat

What training have you done this week now you are a triathlete

BlinkybazBlinkybaz Posts: 1,144
1 Hour of 5-a-side football which I was really bad at.

1 hour hard swim. Cant quite lift my arms over my head today!

Comments

• BlinkybazBlinkybaz Posts: 1,144
    So you have done your first Tri and this is your first season! What trianing have you done this week?

(it follows on from Newbies what training have you done this week!)

Its a bit like a promotion from Newbie to ? (you tell me)
  • johnashtonjohnashton Posts: 32
    I'm quite new to this and it's difficult to nail it down to week to week but on average I do about 6 hours a week. upto 2 hour long bike, an hours spin class or hills or sprint session, 1 hours run or intervals, and 1 hours worth of weights as I play rugby in the winter so need to keep that up a little.

I'm training for my first Olympic Tri in 30 days at rutland water... If anyone else is doing it and worried don't be I'm 100% going to come dead last ! last year the slowest was about 2h30 my bike is going to take me 2h, you do the Math..... I'm in real trouble.
  • chapperschappers Posts: 97
    new to the tri lark too - my background is marathon/fell running. Front crawl, or "how not to drink pool while going in a vaguely forward direction" lessons started three weeks ago - I'm very rubbish at it. weekly training is generally

mon and thurs: 18 mile commute each way on 2 days (morning ride followed by 5k fartlek on the treadmill and core work)

tue and wed: 4k row, 5k fartlek treadmill, core work. evening swim if I can get to the pool.

fri: rest and drink beer for calories

sat and sunday currently reserved for swimming (1hr sessions) as I seriously need the practice. 8 mile run on sat or sun depending on when the future mrs chappers lets me out.