Home Chat General Chat

Advice on riding a tri bike!

I was given an opportunity to but a cheap carbon tri bike! I have been riding a trek 1.2 for the past year, done a triathlon & a couple of duathlons and my riding has improved so much. I know it sounds like a stupid question but how do you ride a tri bike? ie with a different gearing postion. How do you climb? How long spent riding on the tribars ie is it just in straight flat line.

Hope you can help !

Comments

• Hi - I'm no expert on a tri bike but generally in my humble opinion a tri bike is built for straight flat roads, they can be a handful when getting used to them (especially in wind) but once you have the knack of being able to relax the shoulders and keep straight and aero they are a great way to ride, as for riding uphill / round sharp corners come off the bars and ride like a normal road bike ............ there'll be many opinions and advice - hope that helps ??[:D]
  • ZacniciZacnici Posts: 1,385
    First of all have a look at this:

http://www.slowtwitch.com/mainheadings/techctr/bikefit.html

You may also want to have a search through my postings as I think I have commented on something similar before.

With a Tri bike stay aero as long as possible even on climbs and at slow speeds, only when you have to do you come up.

Do not grip the bars, you engage all sorts of muscles whose names I do not know but which are counter-productive if you do so on 78deg Tri bike and buggers you up for the run. Time triallists do that I believe but then a TT bike is 76deg, they engage different muscles and they do not run afterwards. You rest on the bars, your arms and back are relaxed, your legs do all the work.

The geometry of a tri bike is such that it affords less constriction of the diaphragm i.e you breathe better than a road bike with aero bars.

Headwinds and crosswinds are better IMHO than a road bike as you have a reduced profile.
  • shadowone1shadowone1 Posts: 1,408