Home Chat General Chat

commuting by bike and tapering

risris Posts: 1,002
i've got my first race of the year (also my first OD) in 10 days time. i've been training for about 7-8 weeks, generally following a 12wk OD guide from the 220mag. originally i was following it to do city of bath OD in july but managed to get a place at cricklade tri and wanted to give it a go.

i get most of my bike training by commuting 12miles to work, usually 3or4 days a week and try to fit in a longer ride at weekends.

i know i should be tapering next week and letting the muscles get a bit back after the training so wondered if i should back off the commute rides as a result. i can take the train or car instead, it just seems a shame not to enjoy the bike in nice weather.

i'd welcome any advice from the experienced triathletes out there!

Comments

• just2trijust2tri Posts: 198
    Ris - I am no expert and not a seasoned triathlete, but I commute ....

Is it 12 miles each way or in total? What sort of time does it normally take? You could still commute but change the intensity for one of the rides each day. This way you taper the intensity but you can still commute.
  • BmanBman Posts: 442
    Hi riz, I agree with just2tri. I also do most cyling as my commute so before races, I just drop the intensity of the ride into work. Drop a gear and take it easy in the last few days, pack in the carbs and it should be fine. I find the ride in helps with calming pre-race nerves too, the exception being when surrounded by chelsea tractor drivers who rely on sensors to tell them how big their own car is!
  • risris Posts: 1,002
    thankS bman and just2tri, my commute is a bit under 12mi each way, taking the a4 from chippenham to bath and back. generally a pleasant commute although hacking it up box hill gets a bit tiresome after the first mile.