Home Chat General Chat

bike gears and the like

This is my reply to peterparky from the training thread about gears...thought I'd move it here to keep that clearing for training

----

peterparky wrote:

Hi Loon

Thanks for that think i understand - just been out counting

13,14,15,16,17,19,21,23,26 (9speed veloce)

and 52/42 so what is best? is this good gearing for a novice?

it's not as easy as that is it. I find i use the inner ring mostly and bigger one for downhill and flat flat stretches.

Anyway cheers for help

Regards

Ian

I aint no expert and I am just learning myself but your gearing seems okay to me...as its a good spread... I have replaced my cassette recently to drop to a 21 from a 27 or summat but I don't have the luxury of extra gears...

your chainrings look just fine I am running a much smaller (compact) set that came with the bike and I am gonna change this when I get the chance..

The only thing that you might notice is that as you get better the big jump between 23 and 26 may annoy you a bit ..

Comments

• DOtriHarderDOtriHarder Posts: 307
    Ian

You coped well last Sunday, your bike section was non too shabby. When you assess gearing you should aim to be mainly using the gears which run most cleanly ie the middle sprockets on the back for each of the chainrings on the front. You will probably have noticed that if you use the biggest sprocket and the biggest chainring there is a grating noise as the chain rubs past the front mech.

As you get stronger you will be able to achieve a cadence of about 90 using a higher (harder) gear, hence you will migrate up the cassette, this is when you start to make decisions about whether you have the right gears.

You say you spend most of the time on the small ring, small end or big end of the cassette? if you change from the small chain ring and small sprocket to the large chainring and move to a bigger sprocket you will achieve almost the same gear.

Loon -