Warm up for swimming

Hi,

Only joined the Forum today, so thought I'd post a questions

to all you experienced Triathletes.

Not being the a good swimmer I have a few problems mainly

with the start of the swim, for the first 4 to 500 hundred metres

I tend to hyperventilate leaving me breathless thats when

I have to revert to breastroke, after that the breathing

settles and I can get into a normal stroke.

This is my first year of tri after coming from a running/biking

background whre air is always available.

I'm not frightened of the water, I actually prefer open water to pools.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Also does anyone know any good swimming instructors in the

South East Essex/ east London area so I can spend the winter trying to improve

my stroke.

thanks in advance

Comments

• RewRew Posts: 62
    Welcome to the forum luaphor.

It may sound silly but the key to a good swim is to relax. This is the one area a lot of newbies struggle. You will find many posts on here asking about the same thing.

If the swim is open water take yourself away from the rush at the front and place yourself at the back or to one side. Let the quicker ones off and then enjoy your swim.
  • WElcome Luaphor, I have the same problem with swimmimg except that my problem distance is 250m. I am learning to slow down at the beginning, control is the key. I onoly started to learn f/c in January and it has improved so much. I haven't swum open water yet but my second tri was 800 in an open air salt water pool with no anti-turbulence lane ropes after 250m i swopped to breaststroke and back and forth until i climbed out very embarrassed and dejected after 32 lengths. Last night the warm up was 600m straight off and i coped so much better than then.

Good luck with the training, relax it will get better.

David
  • ChrisChris Posts: 17
    As a swim coach myself i tend to see this happen alot.