Home› Chat› General Chat

strenght training

bryanbryan Posts: 45
just wondering what or if every1 still does strenght training with tri or wether it is completely cardio based training e.g. swim, bike and run? I've been swimming veryday and have only just started running again after a break and I bike twice a week. But as I am new to all this I have been working out in the gym for about 2 months solid of 3 sessions a week, focusing on free weights and machine work.

Question is where should I be focusing and how much of each? Have switched mentality to run everyday as I do with swimming, but should I keep the weight sessions??

cheers

B

Comments

• transittransit Posts: 163
    Generally depends on your own needs. If you find you can't generate enough force to get up hills on the bike for instance then weights might be a good idea.

Alot of people do weight training in the winter to build up base strength then just do maybe one session a week for maintenance. To make it most effective you should make it specific both in terms of exercises and type of sets/reps working through maximum strength, muscular endurance etc.

I've stopped doing wgts cos I don't have enough time and have years of weight training behind me so don't feel I'm missing out too much.
  • legalbeaglelegalbeagle Posts: 208
    I do circiut training twice a week - its a good combination of CV and strength but without all that weight training stuff
  • SamutriSamutri Posts: 143
    I never use the gym (well, unless I'm doing an occasional trip offshore when I use the treadmill and cycling machine!)

I don't think anything can compare to being outside. I suppose I am somewhat fortunate to live half way up a mountain in the North east of Scotland. If I need to work on strength training, I do more hill work.

My swimming has built my upperbody to the level I need.