Home Chat General Chat

Training Plan

Well its all coming together, dropped another 1lb at weigh in on Friday - I need to book my first cycling lesson tomorrow when the lady (through work) who organises them is back off leave, neighbour is lending me her bike and helmet until I can buy one through the cyclescheme at work (next window to buy opens in September), gonna book a couple of lessons initially and see how I get on, I live virtually on a park that has a 1 mile concrete circular circuit so easy enough to practice round there until I am confident enough to get out on the roads.

Have downloaded a 6 month total novice training plan that concentrates for the first 6-8 weeks on indoor biking/strength work then starts to incorporate swimming and running so started that last week. Will do this twice a week.

Twice a week I will swim as well, last week I timed the first 400m as 18mins, yesterday was down to 14 mins but I know I need to go sub 10 mins before the race, loads of time for that.

But what I want to know does anyone have any suggestions on how I should structure my two swimming sessions each week - I'm thinking just swimming up and down for an hour might not be the best use of my time. My gym sessions feel pretty structured right now but my swimming doesn't - Ive heard something about drills,but don't really know what these are.

Any help/training plans etc very gratefully received!!

Thanks guys

Comments

• durhamvamdurhamvam Posts: 246
    Hi there,

It might be worth booking some swim lessons or seeing if your local tri club do pool sessions you can join - I go to mine even though I can't keep up with the bike/run sessions. They should have a coach who will help you work on drills and technique and who can make suggestions of what to do with your other sessions during the week. The drills will focus on the areas of your stroke that you need to work on - like length, recovery, rotation and also general fitness - intervals that sort of thing