Home Chat General Chat

What do you do when it gets Hard ? Training that is ?

dear all, love the forum nd all the help that is around so I lay my problems open to the forum

Completed first sprint Arundel couple of weeks ago, 400/20/5 results it 8.50/40.09/38.30 but really for me it was about doing it and finishing. Have signed up for South coast 15th august 750open/20/5 and also brightonmarina 1000open/32/8 looking forward to both of them.

Heres the thing, I am a fat bastXXd 16 stone 8 even though I have been training for 4 months or so but I am a whole heap fitter and happier, but I still really struggle on the running side, Never was going to be fast, but I dragged my sorry arse out pavement bashing last night , 4.2k in 36 minutes and I felt so tired , unfit, i had to keep stopping. Now I know that you have those nights but my level of fitness has increased , I love the bike ( new shiny Argon 18 coming ) and really enjoy the swim 1000m this lunch at 23minutes and at the moment I am happy with this.

Yet I run like I have never done any running in my life, does this get better if I put as much time in as the bike and run, I know its a silly question but its the thing that makes my head drop .

Current training based on

Tues 1000m swim lunchtime ,1 hour spinning PM

Wed

Thursday personal trainer , core and strength 1 hour

Friday, swim

Saturday, Run Gym, Long Bike between 18 and 40 miles

Sunday , Sailing , or bike

And I try to fit in a job , children, television, toilet etc

( i have noticed theres not much focus on running above )

Have I mentioned the new bike

Any help or should I just take my sorry arse out more often with trainers on not cycling shoes ?

Comments

• hahaha i love the retroactive fix in the title.

How are you running? like a flat run for however far you gotto go or do you do intervals or fartleg?

I hated running, but now that i do fartleg i love it and have seen the most improvements in both speed and endurance...

• md6md6 Posts: 969