Home Chat Race Chat

Ironman Distance

Hi all,

I'm looking to do an Ironman distance triathlon early summer next year (2010), I'm wanting to do it to raise money for an expedition. Im new to triathlons but I'm a rower so I have a good base level of fitness and Im used to training hard, so it should be a good challenge.

The official UK ironman is too late in the season, can anyone reccomend other events that may be good, and suitable for a novice.

thanks.

Comments

• jamewahjamewah Posts: 113
    Hi like you I'm looking to progress to ironman in 2010 but going to start off with olympic distance first, then progress to the Ironman 70.3 in June 2010.

Have you any triathlon experience under your belt ?

A jump to full Ironman is a bold move my friend !
  • MillszolaMillszola Posts: 5
    Hi JBorrell!

I've entered the Germany Ironman in Frankfurt this year July 5th. Rumours go that it is a good one to do as your first as it is relatively 'flat' but it is still an Ironman so no doubt will be very hard! Quote on their website as "longest day of the year"!! ;-). It's said to have one of the best finishes and some of the best crowds to keep you going...

Check out more info here...

http://www.ironman.de/english/

This is going to be my fourth ever triathlon.. of which 1,2 and 3 have all been this year!!

• I'm afraid I have nothing to offer on which races you might enter, but I saw your message and wanted to wish you luck and possibly offer you a word of advice (although you may already know it).

Last year I was in almost exactly the same position as you. I'm also a rower and did my first Triathlon (at Blenheim) last year. In September I signed up for Ironman UK 2009 and began training proper in January.