Home Chat General Chat

Stepup from Half to full Ironman

I can;t offer any insight into this at present, but look forward to an update, as I'm considering a half and ful ironman next year. Only sprints and OD this year.

Comments

• cammykcammyk Posts: 36
    I just did my first half Ironman triathlon the weekend in Switzerland. I finished in a pretty good time considering it was my first(5:52). I started training in Jan this year and have been pretty committed but needed to learn to swim and bike correctly in that time and have only had my bike 14 weeks prior to the race. I was training around 9 hours per week for the last 2 months and a little less before that. How much more training is needed to step up the distance. I was tired at the end and very happy it was over but now think that with a full year and hopefully with a better technical base to start from that if I kept the hours roughly the same that I could step up the length to a full Ironman ? Is it such a huge difference ? I'm going to run a full marathon in Oct to see how that feels but running is probably my strongest of the 3 disciplines. Anyone made the jump care to offer up what it takes to go the full distance ?
  • treefrogtreefrog Posts: 1,242
    I went the other way - started with a full and went to a half, mainly for availability reasons. They really are quite similar, but with full IM you must get feeding right, you can get away with it in a 70.3, but basically similar training - although I would reccommend a marathon well beforehand, also get a long swim (3-4kM) and a long cycle (150kM+) in every 2-3 weeks.
    I have another half distance lined up at the end of this month but it has a 2.7km swim and 80k bike rather than 1.9k and 90k. So a bit longer on the swim but should be similar time wise. A good test of stretch of swim length.
  • jonEjonE Posts: 1,113