Home Chat General Chat

Ironman wannabe

Hi all, been lurking around these forums for a while, and thought I should introduce myself.

I'm an 18 year old student, planning on a 2010 Ironman, I havnt got an triathlon experience so Im starting early. Got a bit of rowing swimming and running experience though.

Feel free to fire away with any suggestions. An Ironmans gunna be tough for a newbie but a big challange should be pretty motivating I think.

My main question I'm having difficulty with at the moment is weight training. How much do you guys do, I know I could do with strength in my legs for the bike, which Im very new at, and better muscular endurance in my shoulders for the swim. However I find weights takes a while to recover from if your going heavy to build strength, this cuts in on time for other things. So what would you guys suggest?

cheers

James

Comments

• md6md6 Posts: 969
    Hi, I'm sure more experienced people on here will tell you different but i don't do virtually any weight training. I get into the gym once every other week when I swap my usual core stuff. I find that i don't go heavy as that builds muscle (for me) I tend to go with higher reps of a moderate weight. I think the best way to build strength on the bike is by being on the bike, and fow the arms, get some hand paddles that'll help build strength whilst in the pool. Hope that helps any but like I said I fully expect to be contradicted by people who know lots more than me

• starcherstarcher Posts: 126
    Hi mate,

I dont do any weight training anymore used to when i played rugby but none for Tri.

If you wanna have good bike legs id suggest getting out on your bike practising

Over gearing and Under gearing and ride up lots and lots and lots of big F-off hills.

Thatll sort you legs out.