Home Chat General Chat

Shoes at T1

I just got my first bike shoes and clip pedals this weekend, I'm racing this Sunday.

I had been intending not bothering with the "shoes on the bike" thing. Then I tried walking in bike shoes and cleats. Cue Sunday morning spent practising the shoes on the bike method!

Comments

• gdh250467gdh250467 Posts: 237
    How did it go, and where did you do it. I'm conscious of looking like a complete muppet whenever I pluck up the courage to give it a try. Do you think it'll save you any time.

(I've got the non-slip Look cleats, so walking is slightly easier)

I'm new to this Tri thing, as it's my first season, with only three races under my belt. Currently I put my cycling shoes on in T1, run/hobble/mince along with my bike to the mount line, mount, clip in and go. Then coming tino T2 inclip and repeat the run/hobble/mince thing.

I know the pro's/competent have their shoes clipped in ready, run through T1 barefoot and get their feet into theri shoes as they go. However having watched the 'car crash TV' that is Transition, it seems that most who try this aren't overly efficient at it, either seeming to be exceptionally slow in getting their shoes on, or making a complete mess up of dismounting bare foot, with their bike jumping all over the place as their cranks spin and their shoes hit the floor.

If you're not completely seemless at the T1/T2 mount/dismount thing, do you really save any time. Shoud I just persevere with what I know, or shoud I start to practice?

• JulesJules Posts: 987
    7.30 am on Sunday, on the pavement by my house. I probably looked like a total muppet, but no-one else was mad enough to be outside at that time.

I have SPDs which are very tricky to walk in. I am concerned that I'd break my ankle if I tried to go any distance! That was what prompted me to try the alternative rather than getting through T1 faster, although I hope it will be faster as well.