Home Chat General Chat

Tips on safe cycling needed

Anyone got any do's and don'ts for cycling on the road. I live in quite a built up area. Lots of cars, buses, vans, bad junctions, roundabouts etc. Already nearly been knocked off my new bike cos drivers don't look for you, all they look for is cars etc.

I am fairly new to cycling and having been knocked off previously. I don't want to make the same mistake again. (I will probably never turn right at a roundabout again!).

Comments

• wear bright clothing - not that silky black number -

lights when needed -obviously-

get together with mates or tri / cycling club and ride in a group.

avoid riding during rush hour (unless this is commuting of course)

you can get small mirrors for either your helmet or handle bars if you want to keep an eye on whats happening behind you.

ensure you give plenty of warning to other road users when you are going to change position in the road, eg when going round drains or pot holes and want to pull out into the road briefly.

put the bike in the back of the car and drive out to the sticks for some nice quiet country roads.

Unfortunately in this country, motorists think they own the roads and that we just get in the way. See similar posts over on tritalk.

Tim
  • Matt KMatt K Posts: 16
    The most obvious and most important is to be seen, so if you own a fluroescent cycling top that probably shouldnt be seen outside of the 1980's then wear it dont be scared of the fashion police, also lights (even in daylight) aimed at roughly head height of the drivers so they get an eye full and know your there, (although use discretion with this and dont be dangerous).

But you can take all the safety measures you like, majority of drivers still won't look out for cyclists. So you have to take the responsibility yourself.

Watch the drivers inside, not the car.