Home Chat General Chat

Overheating - Dehydration?

I'm new to Triathlon (yet to take part in one) and must congratulate forum members for contributing to an informative and friendly resource which is helping people new to the sport.

At the minute, I'm just doing general training sessions as and when I can with a view to a more structured training programme when my swimming has improved (which is coming along faster than I thought). Hopefully in preparation for taking part in races next season.

The problem is I sweat like there's no tomorrow ! Thankfully only when I exercise.
I've reduced the intensity of training sessions recently after buying a HRM which has helped but occasionally (and most notably during Great North Run a couple of years ago) I overheat, get a very red face and feel like I've nothing left to the point of collapse.

This happens when running only. Does this sound like classic dehydration?

Comments

• sounds fairly normal to me, I sweat like a ... (add in favourite analogy)

Easiest way to find out how much fluid you should be having during you running is to weigh yourself before and after you runs. See how much weight you have lost, add on the amount of liquid you have consumed and it will give you the amount you should drink in that time period (weather and intensity dependent obviously)

Now watch the people telling me i am wrong!!
  • jibby26jibby26 Posts: 261
    This is a problem I suffered from badly last year, luckly it reduced and hasn't come back with vengence this summer. I can't run on a treadmill in the gym as I overheat badly in about 20 mins, so I do all my runs outside which I find keeps me cool enough during the summer.