Home Chat General Chat

Speed or eundrance

I'm new to Tri, and not too sure whether I'm built for speed or endurance. SO far this year I've done four supersprints, an aquathlon, and an OD race. Finished them all within the times I've expected, but I'm only ever mid table. The rest of my season is now an aquathlon, sprint, aquathlon, HIM, supersprint, supersprint. Then I'll be able to review which was most enjoyable, or challenging, and then concentrate my training over the winter to either step up to IM next year, or stay at one of the lesser distances.

I know that sometimes triathletes are referred to 'jack of all trades, master of none', but I wondered if anyone else ties to mix different distance races throughout the season, or is it best just to concentrate on one?

Comments

• Jack HughesJack Hughes Posts: 1,262
    In physiological terms, anything over 10 - 20 minutes is endurance!

Really, when it comes to tri, the main determining factors for which distance you do, are:

1) How much training you can do (in terms of time)
    2) What gives you the most pleasure (in terms of the challenge).
    3) How injured you get!
  • TRIumphantTRIumphant Posts: 850
    I'm enjoying doing a bit of both in my first season. However, if I train for speed, then the long distance endurance will suffer, and likewise training to go long means that the speed suffers.
  • Jack HughesJack Hughes Posts: 1,262
    What's your "A" race.. you train for that!

If it is long, then you throw a few sprints in to get speed etc. etc.
  • TRIumphantTRIumphant Posts: 850
    I think this year I haven't really planned a season with 'A', 'B' and 'C' races, just entered, run, finished and looked for the next one. And as I've enjoyed them looked to go a bit longer, hence a progression from superspint to sprint to OD to HIM. Once this season's over I think I need to sit back, take stock, and properly plan what I want to do next year.
  • jonEjonE Posts: 1,113