Home Chat General Chat

advice for a novice

I am a junior doctor working variable and unsociable hours. I have a history of team sports but am planning on doing my first triathlon this summer. I currently run approx 5 mile three times a week. could anyone advise me on the most productive training methods for a limited time schedule??

Comments

• VegaUKVegaUK Posts: 4
    Hi, Im a Tri novice but have been running for years. If I where you I would probabley take up swimming which would increase your overall body power and strength. Also as a start you might want to do the beginner sprint training session in the latest 220 mag. Hope it helps :)
  • chischis Posts: 94
    If you are already running 5 miles three times a week this is good. Perhaps you could be sure to ensure that there is some speed work in that and perhaps begin to extend one session gradually into a longer run.

In addition you do need to get at least one good swimming session in per week depending on how far off your event is. Perhaps you could cycle to work also to save a bit of time as you no doubt have a hectic schedule. If you work in a hospital I am sure you will be able to shower somewhere at work.

The advice about looking at a proper training schedule is sound as it will give you a framework to follow and will help your motivation. Be prepared to adapt it according to other presssures and to suit your individual needs however.

As you get nearer to your event try some "brick sessions" where you ride straight after a swim or run straight after a ride (particularly the latter) as this will help your body to begin to come to terms with the transition to a different discipline and using different muscles. Also practising transition itself will help - even running through the process mentally.

chis
  • JasonBJasonB Posts: 303