Home Chat General Chat

Newby

Hi everyone,

Not only am I new to this forum but I'm new to triathlon too.
I've booked myself on the Newbury triathlon in September (6th) and would like some general advice on the swim leg.
It's only 300m and is in a swimming pool but I would like to know what is best to wear. (wetsuit, swim shorts etc)
I was thinking that as the swim is in a pool (outdoor), I wouldn't need to go the whole hog and wear a wetsuit and this would also save time in transition.

Thanks in advance,
Max.

Comments

• gavinrigg06gavinrigg06 Posts: 176
    The best thing to wear is a tri-suit, this can be worn for the swim, with no need to change for the bike or run leg.
  • FlavadaveFlavadave Posts: 749
    Welcome to the forum! AAAARGH beaten to it again! Oh well, posting it anyway.

Regards wetsuit, definitely don't wear one in the pool. You might want to get a trisuit though or tri top and shorts. You can then wear this for the entire event. suit/shorts has small amount of padding for the cycle leg, and will dry quickly after a few minutes cycling.

Granted they're not the most flattering of garments, but 90% of the field will probably be wearing them so you won't feel such a pleb.

Oh, and you might want to join the 'Bridgtown Cona Testa Triathlon Team'... Have a read of the thread on the forum set up by the man the legend 'Conehead'. You can then pick up a branded trisuit at a discounted price!
  • TRIumphantTRIumphant Posts: 850