Home Chat General Chat

nutrition - I haven't a clue

Hi all,

i'm really having problems with my nutriton... was hoping that someone could help.

I've no experience of endurance nutrition.

Two probs

1: Riding

My rides are currently 1hr to 1 3/4 hrs long - i've seen people say that you should need nothing much to eat for this length of time but after 1 hr i really feel like my legs are burning/dead - i usualy eat a banana before i set of and have water after.

I''m planning on uping the miles over the winter - soreen seems to be all the rage - so just have a lump of that after 45mins?!?!? or a fruit bar?

Energy gells seems to have worked in the past but....

2: Pre-race

Last tri - had a gell 30 mins before the start and then proceeded to bring it up through the swim. Burping etc.

So this weekend - had toast, peanut butter and jam 1hr before then a gell 45 mins before (trying to have it a bit earlier before the swim) - then went to datchett for a swim - this time my stomach was really bad - to be blunt had the shits, stomach craps after about 400m.

Runs up to an hour - generally banana before then no water until i get back.

I have a bad stomach anyway - stress related - spicy food - prunes(fibre?)

Also makes it even trickier as veggie with a mainly vegan diet....

Really struggling with this as going up to 70.3 next year and could really do without cramps/shits/etc.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers,

WIll

Comments

• BritspinBritspin Posts: 1,655
    Experimentation will probably be your best option over the winter.
    I reall do not like gels & stepping up distances I will have to find a solution that works for me..I think mostly fluid, however I won't be 70.3ing for a while yet so no real dramas..anyway back to you.
    I personally cannot stomach anything with fat in it close to racing training...the peanut butter thing would not be pretty for me, but I can tolerate cereals/porridge (I know but its true) before either comfortably.