Home Chat General Chat

Can't swim - get some coaching

Sounds obvious doesn't it.

I self taught myself freestyle through perseverance and hours of garbage yardage.

I finally realised that I wasn't going to improve on my own and recently went on the SwimSmooth clinic at Bath Uni. I didn't expect overnight miracles, how could I possibly get better after one day's coaching. Now that's not because I'm really Ian Thorpe posting incognito (I wish!) but because I'd never been video'd I thought that my technique wasn't that bad. Ouch. doesn't the truth hurt sometimes. It sort of looked like a freestyle stroke, but only just - now I know why everyone goes past me.

Throughout the day we alternated between time in the classroom discussing technique, biomechanics and the remaining time in the pool putting into practise what we'd just seen and receiving individual tuition from either Paul or one of the other superb coaches. We were videoed again at the end of the day and although tired I didn't initially recognise myself as my stroke had changed so dramatically.

Now, one of Paul's mantras (misquoted) is along the lines of - reinforce, don't force, so I hope he'll excuse me if I qualify how amazed I am. Before the session it took me 62s for 50m (told you I was no Ian Thorpe) - I've just got back from a session and timed myself at 47s for the same 50m (okay, still no Ian Thorpe) and I'm over the moon. I haven't timed myself yet, but reckon I could go under 30min for 1500 now! Game on!

So, thanks again to Paul, Neil and Stewart/Stuart, the coaches, and all the others who attended the Bath Uni clinic and made it so enjoyable and to those who are sitting on the fence wondering whether or not to get some swim coaching - do it!

Rob

Comments

• PC67PC67 Posts: 101
    Very interesting. I'll see if they're doing one in London early in 2007.

Could you expand on the teaching methods used?