Home Chat General Chat

Wheel advice anybody?

Hi all - I'm pretty new to this Tri stuff but have really bitten the bug!
I've got the option to upgrade my stock wheels but cant decide on either...

Some Mavic Carbones to give me some more speed in the TT

or

Some all round lighter wheels that I can take on longer days out but also help with my TT.

My call really I know but.... I've heard people state you need to be clocking 25mph to get the value out of 40-50mm TT wheels - well I only average 20mph so would they really make any odds to my riding?

Thanks in advance for any useful advice!

dc.

Comments

• MGMG Posts: 470
    Nah, the 25mph+ is for a disk wheel. Id go for the cosmics personally.

Ive got 50mm deep rims on my bike and they are absoltely universal, a good wheel for all courses. Theres definately an advantage on the flat/rolling and they will be light enough to get up climbs. Also they wont be disturbed by cross winds.

Have you had a look at HED wheels too, there are some fantastic offers to be had at hte moment........

For most triathlons having a slightly heavier wheel is not toooo much of a prob cos most courses are rolling, however, courses like Norseman and Hellvelen are berrrluddy hilly and a lighter wheelset would benefit.

That said I'd still go for the Mavics.................
  • md6md6 Posts: 969
    To slightly derail the thread - but on a very related topic... I am looking for some new wheels myself. The two early contenders are Campag Zonda wheels:
    http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/cycle/7/Campagnolo_Zonda_Clincher_Wheel_Set/5360030560/

and Easton EA90:
    http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/cycle/7/Easton_EA90_Aero_Wheel_Set/5360036593/

So for this sort of price range, what does everyone think...

Or are the Hed ones in this price range better than these options?
  • combatdwarfcombatdwarf Posts: 258