Home Chat General Chat

urgent ITB advice

Hi Folks,

Most of you will be tired of hearing about my injuries since I seem to mention them in one form or another every time I post. Anyway for those of you who have missed out the history is this:

Since January I have been taking myself from complete newbie to Ironman hopeful preparing for IMUK on the 2nd August. Back in March I developed a nasty stress fracture just above the ankle in my right fibula. After a couple of weeks completely off I recommenced run training using the cross trainer to avoid any impact, and gradually built in time on the treadmill as I felt able. Rehab seemed to be going great until I tested my ankle at a half IM in late June. The swim and bike both went well and based on CH’s advice I only ever planned to do the 1st 5k of the run. The run course involved a mixture of on and off road and the surface under foot for the off-road section was fairly uneven. Miraculously the ankle seemed absolutely fine , but during and after the run my left knee was pretty sore. The soreness persisted for the next couple of weeks so I cut my run training right back before testing it out again. After the couple of weeks rest I tried again and got the same soreness so took more rest. On Sunday I tried again... At first I could only manage running 5 minutes followed by 5 minutes walking but as I continued this decreased to 2 minutes run 2 minutes walk. I’ve been uber cautious of it so the pain isn’t crippling at the point where I stop, but the pain seems to crescendo in such a way that I feel it would be unbearable if I carried on for much more than a minute further.