Home› Chat› General Chat

Running - am i killing myself?

Question for runners or anyone really...

I've been running pretty consistently 40miles a week for the last 7 months and had sort of plateaued my progress recently. My goal is to break 90 minutes in a half marathon next month and I am stuck on pace to go about 93-94. This led me to deciding trying something new.

I thought I'd try and increase the mileage. 12-13miles Sun pm, Mon am, Tue pm, Thur am, Fri am, Sat pm - about 75 miles. Goal is to just do a steady pace for all of them and really push the limits of what I can do, hoping for some sort of different strength development maybe.

The first one was easy, took it easy and felt fine.
Mondays was tough, having a tough time for the first 20 minutes then picked up.
Tuesday, started slow, got fast for the next 60 minutes, then 2 or 3 miles from home just about totally ran out of water or something... My lungs are a bit weak feeling and my stomach isn't begging for food like it should be. Legs feel fine really, heart rate was pretty consistent, no spiking or dropping off. Times are within 1 minute of each other so far but perceived effort fluctuates.

Do I keep going for the next 3 runs? Is this going to ruin me?

Comments

• apana790apana790 Posts: 76
    You should be doing running at your target race pace or slightly above if you want to get a faster time, not increasing the distance. Stick to your original mileage but just run faster pace, maybe do some intervals
  • Jack HughesJack Hughes Posts: 1,262
    Hmm.. You want to run faster.. so you are doing more miles..

If you want to run faster, you need to practise running faster.

Just running more, and faster, will lead to injury. You might get so depressed by that, that do end up killing yourself

Time spent is far more important than miles covered.
    You need a mix of quality, as well as slower runs.