Home Chat General Chat

Hever Castle

Just got back from a rather lazy holiday and decided things have been slacking lately so I entered the Hever Castle tri for 27 September.

Any other SE London based peeps doing it? Anyone done it before and got any insights?

I've entered the longer event - 800m swim (have only swum 400m before so instantly bricking it)

Comments

• SuzieDSuzieD Posts: 12
    I hadn't even heard of it but having just looked at the website I am quite tempted.... mainly because I am a history teacher and it sounds cool!

I know I must get out of the tweed with leather arm patches!!

Having just done London OD I am thinking 'The Anne Boleyn' sounds rather fun
    Couldn't do OD again... and face the students on the Monday in pain!

Suzie
  • bulletbullet Posts: 115
    I know I must get out of the tweed with leather arm patches!!

Is that what teacher wear now then ?
  • SuzieDSuzieD Posts: 12
    Yep.... apparently all history teachers do......we have an image to maintain!!!

Although some students are confused as they are more likely to see me swimming, cycling or running than at school - their faces are usually a picture
  • I'm there already...booked it last week. Only do the lightweight Anne Bollen distance though. Looks great, especially as I go there pretty much once or twice a month anyway with the wife and kids as we live so local. It's a beautiful place even if the lake is brim full of pike and eels (ouch - armoured wetsuit anyone?)

I'm goto Tooting Bec Lido for some swimming followed by a 5k run round the common straight after (the Lido is in the middle of the common so it's good brick training) quite regularly so if you ever fancy joining in lemme know.
  • deeessdeeess Posts: 150
    Steve

Have you any idea on whether the course is flat or hilly?

Ta

Dave
  • Ron99Ron99 Posts: 237