Home Chat General Chat

Pre race advice sought.

I'm competing in my first sprint tri this saturday and not sure what sort of preparation i should be doing from now on in. I mean training and nutrition wise, i have a checklist for my gear ready to go, bike has been checked over etc etc. Its just i have no experience of competing in tris and could do with any advice anyone can give, especially on the nutrition side. Should i increase carbs next few days? take in extra cals? Train a little or a lot? Thanks, Kevin.

Comments

• TRIumphantTRIumphant Posts: 850
    I believe car loading is a science, and unless you get it right, it doesn't work, so I wouldn't get too hung up on it. A Sprint, although hard work at the time, is only between 1:15 and 2:00 hours, and the theory goes that we've generally got a store of 1500-2000 calories within us, which is more than enough to complete the Sprint.

Best advice is to be well hydrated over the two days before. Make sure you eat well, but don;t get too bogged down in carb loading. Don't try to eat anything new or that affects you before the event, and probably try to reduce your fibre intake in the last 24 hours.

Reduce your training, but don;t stop, just keep the muscles working, and try to ease any soreness.

Bust more importantly, enjoy it, and report back on the weekend when you can call yourself a Triathlete.
  • shadowone1shadowone1 Posts: 1,408
    by TRIumphant » 05 Aug 2009 11:44

I believe car loading is a science,
    Yes car loading is a science. I always wonder why I can never load my car properly with all my tri stuff.
  • TRIumphantTRIumphant Posts: 850
    Doh! Too much gear,no idea. The most disorganised person in an organised sport.
  • Jack HughesJack Hughes Posts: 1,262
    For a sprint (only an hour or two) you don't have to worry too much about things like carb loading.

Work out what time you have to set off - allow yourself plenty of time for unforeseen incidents.