Home Chat General Chat

Race Wheels

I am quite new to this tri lark but have decided to treat myself to some race wheels. I heard it is best to keep a set just for racing and seperate set for training.
My question is -
Is it worth getting some aero wheels with a slightly deeper wheel rim (say 50 or 60mm) on a normal set up road bike or am I better just going for something lightweight? I have a Giant Defy 2 so wasn't sure if the aero advantage is worth the extra weight?

Comments

• TesseractTesseract Posts: 280
    Quick answer - yes.

For TTs and triathlon the ultimate aim is as aero as possible, weight doesn't matter as much - unless it's a hilly course. Having said that rotational weight is the biggest impact, so a heavier wheel will be that bit slower to get up to speed - but then once there will potentially give a flywheel effect, which helps maintain speed.

If you get good wheels, you can always keep them and upgrade the rest of the bike later.
  • BootooBootoo Posts: 29
    So if I am going to get some aero wheels I really need to think about investing in some tri bars first? My only concern is the fairly tall head tube on my bike and not being able to get into a decent aero position.
    Are the wheels a waste of time without the tri bars?
    I was thinking of the Easton EA90 or something similar for the wheels set but will be visiting the lbs.
  • huwdhuwd Posts: 228
    Bootoo wrote:
    So if I am going to get some aero wheels I really need to think about investing in some tri bars first? My only concern is the fairly tall head tube on my bike and not being able to get into a decent aero position.
    Are the wheels a waste of time without the tri bars?
    I was thinking of the Easton EA90 or something similar for the wheels set but will be visiting the lbs.